The terroirs of Châteauneuf-du-Pape

Châteauneuf-du-Pape : a mosaic of soils

Contrary to popular belief, the terroir of Châteauneuf-du-Pape is not exclusively made of big orange pebbles! There is a wide variety of soils: red clays, limestone pebbles, sandstone sands of marine origin or deeper loams from the banks of the Rhone. Each type of soil produces grapes with different characteristics, thus contributing to the extraordinary complexity of Châteauneuf-du-Pape wines.


The soils of Domaine Duseigneur in Châteauneuf-du-Pape

Round pebbles

These are very hard metamorphic granite rocks of alpine origin called Quartzite (chiefly composed of silica). Their round and polished shape reveals the influence of the Rhone’s waters throughout the ages.

In Châteauneuf-du-Pape, the pebbles are merged with red clays rich in iron oxide. This quartzite/clay combination is exceptionally rare in geology. It allows the vine to benefit from the water and mineral elements reserves that are returned to the roots.

The wines produced on these soils are rich and opulent with ripe fruit aromas and powerful tannins.


Limestone soils

Limestone sediments of marine origin have been broken up by erosion. They sometimes come out to the surface and give the soils a dazzling white look.

The stones are shaped like flat slabs with sharp, salient edges. Fine sands and clays can be found under these slabs, but less in pebbly soils.

The wines from this soil are fresher and more tense. They contribute to the acidity / tannin / alcohol balance that is essential for the full expression of the aromatic spectrum of great wines.


Sandstone soils (Safres)

Also of marine origin (late Tertiary period), Safres is a friable rock composed of fine sandstone transformed into deep sand by erosion.

The wines produced on these soils are very elegant and characterized by fine and silky tannins.


The Lirac/Laudun Terroir

A "little" Châteauneuf on the right bank

Our famous rounded pebbles can be found on the right bank in the Gardoise Rhône Valley on very similar soils in appearance to those of Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Our guardoises plots are planted on slopes facing North between the communes of Saint Laurent des Arbres and Saint Victor la Coste.

Les terroirs de Châteauneuf-du-Pape

Châteauneuf-du-Pape : Une mosaïque de sols

Contrairement aux idées reçues, le terroir de Châteauneuf-du-Pape n’est pas uniquement composé de gros galets de couleur orange ! On y trouve une grande variété de sols : argiles rouges, cailloux calcaires, sables gréseux d’origine marines ou bien limons plus profonds des bords du Rhône. Chaque type de sols produit des raisins aux caractéristiques différentes contribuant ainsi à l’extraordinaire complexité des vins de Châteauneuf-du Pape.

Les sols du Domaine Duseigneur à Châteauneuf-du-Pape

Les galets roulés

Ce sont des roches métamorphiques granitiques d’origine alpine très dures appelées Quartzite (essentiellement composées de silice). Leur forme arrondie et polie révèle le travail des eaux du Rhône au cours des âges.

A Châteauneuf-du-Pape, les galets sont mêlés à de l’argile rouge riche en oxyde de fer. Cette association quartzite/argile est exceptionnelle en géologie. Elle permet à la vigne de bénéficier de réserves en eau et en éléments minéraux restitués aux racines.

Les vins produits sur ces sols sont riches et opulents aux arômes de fruits mûrs et aux tanins puissants.

Les sols calcaires

Les sédiments calcaires d’origine marine ont été brisés en cailloutis par l’érosion. Ils affleurent parfois à la surface et donnent aux sols un aspect blanc éblouissant caractéristique.

Les pierres ont une forme de dalles plates aux arêtes vives et saillantes. Sous ces dalles, on trouve des sables fins et des argiles mais ces derniers en quantité moindre que dans les sols de galets roulés.

Les vins provenant de ce sol sont plus frais et plus tendus. Ils contribuent à l’équilibre acidité/tanin/alcool qui est indispensable pour que s’exprime pleinement la palette aromatique des grands vins.

Les safres et les sables gréseux

Également d’origine marine (fin du tertiaire), les safres sont une roche friable composée de grès fin que l’érosion a par endroit transformé en sables profonds.

Les vins produits sur ces sols sont très élégants et caractérisés par des tanins fins et soyeux.

Le Terroir de Lirac/Laudun

Un "petit" Châteauneuf Gardois

On retrouve nos célèbres galets roulés sur la rive droite en vallée du Rhône gardoise sur des terroirs d'apparence très similaires à ceux de Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Nos parcelles gardoises sont plantées en coteaux face Nord entre les communes de Saint Laurent des Arbres et Saint Victor la Coste.